Skip to content

Copenhagen Agreement

The Copenhagen Agreement is an agreement between Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden that relates to the response to oil and chemical discharges in the Baltic Sea and Kattegatt. The contracting parties to the Copenhagen Agreement have agreed to co-operate with one another in surveillance, investigations and reporting, with the view to protecting the marine environment from oil discharges and other harmful substances. Cooperation includes mutual assistance in response operations, the organisations of joint exercises and activities in working groups and ad hoc groups.

Apart from the ordinary work group meetings, a plenary meeting is held once a year. The area of responsibility at present is focussed on accidents at sea.

Location: Baltic Sea
Back To Top